edited by Dick Simpson and Betty O'Shaughnessy
contributions by Daniel Bliss, Marco Rosaire Rossi, Dick Simpson, Clinton Stockwell, Betty O'Shaughnessy, Xolela Mangeu, Gregory D Squires, Monroe Anderson, Costas Spirou, Dennis Judd and Kari Lydersen
University of Illinois Press, 2024
eISBN: 978-0-252-05526-3 | Paper: 978-0-252-08771-4 | Cloth: 978-0-252-04560-8
Library of Congress Classification F548.53.C55 2024
Dewey Decimal Classification 977.311043

Political profiles of five mayors and their lasting impact on the city

Chicago’s transformation into a global city began at City Hall. Dick Simpson and Betty O’Shaughnessy edit in-depth analyses of the five mayors that guided the city through this transition beginning with Harold Washington’s 1983 election: Washington, Eugene Sawyer, Richard M. Daley, Rahm Emmanuel, and Lori Lightfoot. Though the respected political science, sociologist, and journalist contributors approach their subjects from distinct perspectives, each essay addresses three essential issues: how and why each mayor won the office; whether the City Council of their time acted as a rubber stamp or independent body; and the ways the unique qualities of each mayor’s administration and accomplishments influenced their legacy.

Filled with expert analysis and valuable insights, Chicago’s Modern Mayors illuminates a time of transition and change and considers the politicians who--for better and worse--shaped the Chicago of today.

See other books on: 1951- | Local | Mayors | Simpson, Dick | Spirou, Costas
See other titles from University of Illinois Press