by Ralph Waldo Emerson
edited by Alfred R. Ferguson and Jean Ferguson Carr
introduction by Alfred Kazin
Harvard University Press, 1987
Paper: 978-0-674-26720-6
Library of Congress Classification PS1608.A2F47 1987
Dewey Decimal Classification 814.3


Ralph Waldo Emerson, Alfred Kazin observes in his Introduction, “was a great writer who turned the essay into a form all his own.” His celebrated essays—the twelve published in Essays: First Series (1841) and eight in Essays: Second Series (1844)—are here presented for the first time in an authoritative one-volume edition, which incorporates all the changes and corrections Emerson made after their initial publication.

The text is reproduced from the second and third volumes of The Collected Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson, a critical edition which draws on the vast body of Emerson scholarship of the last half century. Alfred R. Ferguson was founding editor of the edition, followed by Joseph Slater (until 1996).